Yale Library seeks submissions for three senior essay prizes

  • White text on blue figured background reads: "Library Prizes".
April 5, 2022

Yale Library is now accepting submissions for three senior essay prizes. Submission deadlines for the Harvey M. Applebaum ’59 award and the Library Map Prize are May 11. The deadline for the Kaplan Prize is April 22. Eligibility for the Kaplan Prize has been expanded this year to include senior essays based on research in any Yale Library special collection.

The Harvey M. Applebaum ’59 Award is awarded to an outstanding essay that relies on substantial research in the government information in the library’s depository collections. See Applebaum Award submission details.

The Yale Library Map Prize is awarded for an essay or equivalent project that makes significant use of the collections’ maps.  See Map Prize submission details.

Formerly focused on Yale History and limited to essays based on research in Manuscripts and Archives, the Kaplan Prize has been expanded in 2022 to recognize outstanding essays on any topic based on research in any Yale Library special collection: Arts Library Special Collections, Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Divinity Library Special Collections, Lewis Walpole Library, Manuscripts and Archives, Medical Historical Library, and Music Library Special Collections. See Kaplan Prize submission details.

Kaplan Prize eligibility expanded 

The Kaplan Prize is given in memory of Diane Kaplan (1947-2012), who worked as an archivist in Manuscripts and Archives for more than 35 years in roles. Her contributions included arranging and describing new archival collections, developing collections documenting 20th century medical care and health policy, and serving as head of public services. In addition to being named a distinguished fellow of the Society of American Archivists for her professional contributions, she served as a mentor for generations of Yale archivists.  She was a creative force in connecting Yale faculty and students with archival collections through introductory workshops, hands-on class sessions, and collaborating with faculty to develop innovative student assignments using collection materials. She was the driving force behind the establishment of senior essay prizes in Manuscripts and Archives beginning in 2003.

Who can submit

The Applebaum Award and the Map Prize are administered by Marx Science and Social Science Library. Essays to be considered for the Applebaum Award and the Map Prize may be submitted by either the senior or their faculty advisor. For the Kaplan Prize, faculty may encourage submission, but the submission itself must be made the by the student author. The Kaplan Prize is administered by Manuscripts and Archives.

In addition to the senior essay prizes, Yale Library helps administer and select the Van Sinderen prizes for book design and the Lohmann Prizes for excellence in undergraduate design and printing at Yale. Beyond student prizes, the library honors and fosters extraordinary literarary achievement through the Bollingen Prize for Poetry and the Windham-Campbell Literature Prizes.

See all Yale Library prizes.

—By Patricia Carey