Eight writers awarded the 2023 Windham Campbell Prize for literary excellence

  • Banner showing photographs of writers in a horizontal grid of eight portraits. SIx are women and two are men.
April 5, 2023

This week, Yale Library announced the recipients of the Windham Campbell Prize, in recognition of exceptional literary achievement. Established in 2013—through a gift from Donald Windham in memory of Sandy Campbell—the prize has to date been awarded to 91 writers from 21 countries.

This year’s winners are, in fiction, Percival Everett (United States) and Ling Ma (United States); in nonfiction, Susan Williams (United Kingdom) and Darran Anderson (Ireland/United Kingdom); in drama, Dominique Morisseau (United States) and Jasmine Lee-Jones (United Kingdom); and in poetry, Alexis Pauline Gumbs (United States) and dg nanouk okpik (Iñupiaq-Inuit).

The prizewinners will be celebrated on campus this fall at the annual Windham Campbell Prize Festival.

Read more about the 2023 prizewinners on YaleNews.